11 Signs you’re in California

1. It is completely acceptable for White people to listen to hardcore Gangster rap

Actually it’s the norm. San Francisco has some fantastically filthy Hip Hop radio stations. I think I’ve just become accustomed to it now. I like to play the same songs to my friends back in the UK and see their shocked faces.
Put a hump in your back and shake your rump!

2. In ‘n’ Out Burger is Mecca

in out

I’m not normally a Burger fan, but there’s some culinary voodoo going on here. In ‘n’ Out burger uses only the freshest ingredients and you can only find it in California and parts of Arizona.
If you’re driving up the Pacific Coast highway you’ll see a bunch of these so don’t hesitate to pull in and try one when you spot the little red arrow sign –  you won’t regret it!
My order’s two double doubles, animal style fries and a chocolate shake. Thanks!

3. The Amtrak service makes you think you’re in outer Mongolia

Amtrak

The USA is an advanced, efficient Country right? Well I’m starting to doubt that after using the Amtrak! Not only do the countless stops make the train journeys substantially longer than the same route via car, you’ll notice delays for ridiculous reasons [“There’s only one train line, and there’s a train coming the other way folks so uh, guess we’re here for an hour!”] When I compare the Amtrak to trains I’ve taken in Africa and Asia, the developing countries are winning hands down every time!

4. People really are as Beautiful as they say

There must be something in the Water…  Californians are all about juicing and running/cycling/blading by the beach. Almost makes me feel bad about my predominantly cake based diet…Almost.

5. Calling Dr. Greenthumb

Mary

Medical marijuana stores are all over the place here – who knew Mary J was such a cure all herb? You can get it prescribed to you for Migraines, stress, epilepsy, the list is endless…
I wouldn’t worry though, I’m SURE the shady looking Mexican guys that give out their business cards at Venice Beach are registered MDs…

6. Sneaky Po Po

There’s some Grand Theft Auto-esque behavior that goes on on California Highway 101.
The feds hide behind bushes and parked vehicles at the sides and middle of the roads to try and catch people speeding.

7. Gnarly Dude

Californians have their own vocab.

“That shit was gnarly dude”
English translation: “That wasn’t very nice”

Hella strange.
English translation: “A bit odd”

8. I like Short Shorts

It’s acceptable to wear short shorts and Daisy Dukes everywhere you go – from the beach, to restaurants, to the night clubs. Get dressed up? Why would I do that? I’m O-K dancing around the Santa Barbara Wildcat with a bra full of sand.

9. Hey Gringo!

Mexican food is everywhere – You’ll be sick of taquitos, tacos and burritos by the time you leave California… then you’ll whinge that you can’t find good Mexican food. Taco Bell? Don’t swear!

10. You haven’t seen rain in a while and when it does rain, you think the World is going to end.

Oh my God! What is this? Water particles are falling from the Sky!! Call 911 ! Call the FBI ! Call Area 51 ! What is this?! Gnarly Dude!

11. He may be small and green but he does Avocado

Avocadoes are growing all over the place so they’ve become a staple part of your diet. All of your friends have their own recipes for homemade guacamole – you always find it on the table with a side of crisps when you rock up to someone’s house.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. All so, so true. We love California. Mrs. Nerd actually lived there for a time. It was great! It definitely is very special and has its own climate and society. (Also true about the police. Man, you gotta be careful. They’re sneaky. Thankfully we never got pulled over but we saw many others get nabbed on our 2 week road trip last year.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too 🙂 ! Whereabouts were you living? I lived in Santa Barbara for a while when I was a student – I was soo heartbroken when my visa expired (I’m British!) but I love coming back here when I can. I normally don’t like revisiting the same places but California will always be special! It’s funny, my friend had a little app that shows you where the police are when you’re driving! No idea how that works but it seemed pretty accurate ha.

      Like

      1. I lived in Monterey for over a year when my dad was in the military. We didn’t go south much, so our road trip last year was the first time I’d ever been to Santa Barbara. What a lovely place! So much charm. Ahh, if we were to retire anywhere in the US, it’d probably be there (that is, if we could afford it)! I hope you get back to CA soon!! Where are you now?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh lovely! I went up to Monterey but only for a day, you have so many beautiful beaches nearby though. I really loved the Big Sur.
        I’m actually in CA at the moment! But I’m so envious of people living here.. maybe I’ll just try dying my hair, changing my identity and seeing if I can get away with staying? ha.

        Like

  2. I have seen some of these signs of California in my trip to Los Angeles back in 2012! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. omg, the sneaky popo had me in giggles – so true! 😂 Thank goodness for Waze!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha that’s it! I was trying to remember the name of the app. So funny when you see the little faces floating around and you know to drive extra cautiously haha.

      Like

  4. Brenda says:

    Nice post!
    Definitely you resumed everything that people says about California in a good way, and I must agree with the Amtrak part! is the worst train ever!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. No.1.gotta be my favourite! I do this anyway and I’m in the UK 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha me too! I was just thrilled when I got to California and everyone was listening to it I was like.. I finally found my own! ha

      Liked by 1 person

  6. kelliedmogg says:

    Oh California, a place that has my heart for sure. (:

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Aubrie says:

    haha I love this article and I the whole time I thought you were from California until you said the word “crisps” and then I knew you were from the U.K! haha

    Liked by 1 person

  8. “predominantly cake based diet” haha- yes! I’m headed to San Diego tomorrow so this was an awesome pre-trip read. I’m not one for fast food, but I’ve heard so much about In-n-Out that I feel like I need to experience it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love San Diego! Ocean Beach is a lot of fun if you have chance to go there 🙂 Oh you should definitely give it a try! I especially love the animal fries – I think it’s just fries with cheese and thousand island dressing but ah! so good! Hope you have a great trip 🙂

      Like

  9. Awesome post. Makes me cringe thinking about my rap phase. A 14 year old British girl quoting Tupac is just not acceptable!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha don’t worry you’re not alone. It was Dizzee Rascal for me! I used to make my parents put the CD on in the car. Omg cringing just thinking about it haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

