Beautiful Busan

Of those who travel to South Korea, I know very few people who have made the journey down to Busan, which is a shame as it is visually stunning – especially once you get away from the main confines of the city; there’s so much unspoilt coastline it reminded me a little of Northern California and The Big Sur.

Busan is a popular holiday destination for Koreans in the Summer time and it’s not hard to see why; though even visiting it off season was fantastic and came with the added bonus of avoiding the crowds.

Haedong Yonggung Temple 

Haedung 4Haedong Yonggung 2

Haedung 3
Obligatory “cute Asian tourist” pose – check!

On the Northern outskirts of Busan, you can find Haedong Yonggung temple – a beautiful Buddhist temple on a cliff top setting. A little out of the City, but worth it for the breathtaking views.

There’s also a great local market (none of your typical tourist tat and clutter I promise!) at the entrance selling weird and wonderful local delicacies – seasoned snails, insects and Bondaegi (boiled silkworm pupae – yum!). Sadly I wasn’t brave enough to try but it was fun to force my friend to and watch him gag at every bite (evil).
Haedong Yonggung Temple

 

From Haeundae station (Subway line 2, Exit 7) take bus 181 and get off at Yonggungsa temple.
Allow a little extra time as traffic in Busan can be painfully slow moving.

 

 

 

Igidae Park Coastal Path/ Oryukdo Skywalk

Sky Bridge Busan 2Sky Bridge Busan

If you’re looking for “off the beaten track” then you’ve got it here.
In all, this is a beautiful 5KM coastline walk spanning Gwangan Bridge, Haeundae Beach, Baeksan and Jangsan Mountain.

The southernmost part of Igidae park is a nice spot, looking out at the five islands of Oryukdo. If you so wish, you can take a ferry across to Oryukdo.  Alternatively, the “sky bridge” is free entry – a glass bottom walkway where you can stroll out to the Middle of the Sea.

This is an area that has escaped the eyes and footprints of tourists – probably because it’s such an arse of a faff to get to but for the patient and outdoorsy you have a couple of options:

shoes
The Skywalk is free entry and what’s more you get these shoe covers thrown in too. Fancy eh? Step aside Jimmy Choo!
  • Take bus 131 from Kyungsung University or Busan City Hall – get off at SK view apartment complex.

 

  • Take bus 27 from Busan Station – get off at SK view apartment complex.

 

Haeundae Beach

Haeundae Beach 1Busan Jelly

Need I say more? Busan’s beaches are so pretty they would rival Los Angeles or Miami.
Great food markets by Haeundae station too (always with the food…)

Jagalchi Fish Market

In a word: Splashback.. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Being a port town, of course Busan was going to have a fish market.
‘Fresh’ is the key word here and you can watch fishermen bringing in their latest catches and fish being sliced, diced, chopped and splayed (that’s a word? Well I like how it sounds) in ways you didn’t think possible – just make sure they’re not still wriggling around when you put them in your mouth (except for the Octopus – it’s O.K. to slice off a cheeky bit of tentacle and eat them live here… in fact it’s kinda the in thing)

Beomeosa Temple

At the edge of Mt. Geumjeongsan, the nice thing about Beomeosa is that it’s surrounded by walking trails and hikes, so it’s a little more than ‘just another’ Buddhist temple.
Beomeosa also participates in the Temple Stay program if you fancy a cuppa with the monks and all that lark. (Take a look at my temple stay program review for more info on this)

Beomeosa 1Beomeosa 2

Take the Subway to Beomeosa Line 1, Exit 5 – take a right and continue that path (about 3 mins on foot) until you arrive at a Bus Depot. Take the Number 90 bus to Beomeosa Temple (approx 10 mins)

Shopping – Shinsegae Centre & Nampo

Shinsegae Centre is perhaps the most notable mall in Busan (it has 14 floors! 14!!) but eh, nothing to write home about. Nampo area is great though, not too far from the horror scenes of Jagalchi, there’s a lot of great quirky boutiques  and the area just has a different kinda feel to it too, an International vibe if you will. If you’re feeling a little tired of your bibimbaps and your spicy foods, there’s some great Italian and French restaurants here.

Gamcheon Culture Village

On the edge - Busan
Life on the edge!

Of course you have to come here! I won’t repeat myself though – have a look at my ‘moon villages of Korea’ post for info on Gamcheon & other Korean Dal Dongnae

Anything you think I’ve missed? What were your highlights of Busan?

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Moritz says:

    Busna looks amazing! Definitely a city I’d love to review for my blog! Thanks for the extensive guide and review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Moritz! I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂 it is definitely a beautiful part of the World!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Moritz says:

        Korea in a whole is totally fascinating! Can’t wait to experience it myself 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. cmblackwood says:

    Oh my goodness! These photos are beautiful; I feel like I was actually there! Thanks for that, since I never go anywhere at all. And thanks for the like! You’ve got an awesome blog here, Melissa! 🙂

    Like

    1. Aw thanks so much 🙂 I enjoyed reading yours too. It’s funny I hadn’t even thought about blogging until the other week but it’s addictive! I just love reading people’s posts and stories!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. cmblackwood says:

        Isn’t it great? Well, enjoy your backpacking! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Very nice pics and an interesting post! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rashminotes says:

    Lovely post; thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Katechka.com says:

    I am totally putting South Korea on our Asian itinerary, your pics just made my day! I also like your website design! Makes me feel I read a travel diary 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thanks, glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

  6. Busan looks beautiful! Especially the temple – a temple stay sounds so interesting!

    Like

    1. It felt like such a privilege to be able to participate with the monks on their activities – definitely recommend it! 🙂

      Like

  7. Mary Leong says:

    That coastal path/walkway looks incredible!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My first (and only) trip to SK was about a year ago. I only had time in Seoul. I think I’ll add Busan to the list for my next visit.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sounds and looks amazing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Nicole says:

    The views look breathtaking! I love learning new places to put on my must visit travel list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Liesbeth says:

    South Korea is definitely still on my list and I’m adding Busan right away! 🙂 The Skywalk looks impressive and you rock those shoe covers girl :p

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Cynthia says:

    Ahh love your article! I really want to go here now!! 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Rosemary says:

    Your pictures are amazing. Wow!! You do a great job describing Busan. Hope to make it there sometime soon. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. renatehl says:

    Wow, just wow! Lovely photos 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Francia Benson says:

    That looks like a fun place to visit. Do they go to the beach a lot like here in the US? I have heard beaches are mostly empty there. I would never even think of eating something alive! Just to imagine it I feel sick of my stomach ha ha

    Like

    1. It was really lovely! The beaches were completely empty whilst I was there – not sure if that was just because it was off season but because their cosmetics market does so many whitening products, I think they don’t like to tan either? If I lived there I’d be on that beach every day ha.
      Oh my gosh I know! I’d love to be brave enough to try these things but ughh!

      Like

  16. Wowww your blog is awesome! It makes me want to go to Asia more! I follow these Korean-Australian vloggers on youtube and they’re always taking trips to Busan and it looks gorgeous! I love your detailed posts, perfect for the next time I travel anywhere!

    Like

  17. You definitely have one of the best travel blogs I’ve ever seen. Thanks so much for sharing your amazing experiences 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

